Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien,WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Scott McComb Selected as Aerospace Educator of the Year


Scott McComb, from Raisbeck Aviation High School, was selected by The National Aviation Hall of Fame as the 2019 A. Scott Crossfield Educator of the Year.  

Scott McComb whth students

McComb heads the science department at Raisbeck and is the founding coach and chair of the Washington State Science Olympiad. He is an American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA) Founding Advisor and a Green Energy Team Founding Advisor.

McCombs' developed the program of Physics of Flight and Aerospace Engineering, which provides students creative problem-solving techniques. McComb's curriculum includes activities such as the Wing Beam where students design, build and test the most efficient composite wing beam possible. Other programs include the design, build and testing of heat shields; investigation and evaluation of factors that affect take-off performance in conjunction with flight test engineers; and the development, build and testing of solar-powered Martian rovers. Over the past fourteen years, McComb has been dedicated to continuing his own scientific and aviation academia by performing scientific research in the Arctic, obtaining his private pilot's license, interning at both Boeing Flight Test and Blue Origin, and learning computational modeling in physics. 

“Scott McComb has developed, enhanced and implemented an outstanding program of Aerospace Engineering education at one of the top college-prep STEM schools in the nation,” Therese Tipton, principal of Raisbeck Aviation High School. “He believes wholeheartedly in the power of encouraging and developing the unique talents of each of his students—he transforms students’ young minds from being hesitant, to being researchers and scientists.” 

McComb will receive the honor, including a $2,500 cash award, during the NAHF’s Enshrinement events in Denver, Colorado on September 27 and 28.  

The Crossfield Award, founded in 1986 by NAHF Enshrinee Scott Crossfield, is a juried annual competition to recognize a teacher for his or her exemplary use of aerospace in their classroom curricula.