Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien,WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

2019 Gold Star BASH Tickets & Nominees Announced

Drumroll please.... the Highline Schools Foundation unveiled the 2019 Gold Star Award nominees. This year's list of impressive nominees includes well-deserving teachers, staff, administrators and volunteers. Congratulations to all--we can't wait to celebrate you at the Gold Star Awards BASH on March 14.

Gold Star Nominees 

Outstanding Alumnus

  • Shellie Hart, Warm 106.9; Highline High School Alumni
  • Ratany Sieng, Highline Public Schools; Mount Rainier High School Alumni
  • Adam Smith, United States House of Representatives representing Washington's 9th congressional district; Tyee High School Alumni
  • Pat Thompson, Evergreen High School Alumni; YES Foundation of White Center

Outstanding Administrator

  • Jacqueline Downey, Evergreen High School, Principal
  • Kathy Emerick, Director Of Teacher Initiatives
  • David Estes, Puget Sound Skills Center, Assistant Principal
  • Alicia Gaynor, Chinook Middle School, Assistant Principal
  • Kimberly Kinzer, Teaching, Learning and Leadership, Executive Director
  • Chad Kodama, Sylvester Middle School, Assistant Principal
  • Adina Thea, Mount View Elementary, Principal

Outstanding Rookie Teacher

  • Kacie Harada, Parkside Elementary, Teacher - Kindergarten
  • Erin Hocevar Ortiz, Evergreen High School, Teacher - Dance, PE
  • Cooper Johnson, Marvista, Teacher – Grade 4
  • Kelly Morris, Hilltop Elementary, Teacher - Grade 1
  • Jesse Perez, Hazel Valley Elementary, Teacher - ILC Intermediate Elementary
  • Jeannie Rakamnuaykit, White Center Heights Elementary, Teacher – Grade 4

Outstanding Staff (Professional or Classified Support)

  • Iris Andaluz Oregon, Gregory Heights Elementary, ELL Paraprofessional
  • Ryan Bunda, McMicken Heights Elementary, Counselor
  • Dominick Fischburg, Beverly Park Elementary, Custodian
  • Deborah Gardner, Parkside Elementary, Paraeducator
  • Lory Hidano, Gregory Heights Elementary, Counselor
  • Logan Hood, Madrona Elementary, Paraeducator
  • Heather Mathias, McMicken Heights Elementary, Office Assistant
  • Trish McGuire, Raisbeck Aviation High School, Office Manager
  • NIkki Nguyen, Hilltop Elementary, Paraprofessional/Office Assistant
  • Kathy Onorati, Pacific Middle School, Dean
  • Andrew Ritsema, Marvista, Counselor
  • Leah Soenke Ruona, Seahurst Elementary, Paraeducator
  • Melanie Terhune, Southern Heights Elementary, Office & Library Assistant
  • Karen Thamert, Valley View ELC, Paraeducator
  • Karissa Vala, Pacific Middle School, Office Manager

Outstanding Teacher

  • Jeb Binns, Highline High School, Teacher - History/Social Studies
  • Catherine Cassidy, Pacific Middle School, Teacher
  • Zanovia Clark, Mount View Elementary, Teacher - Grade 2
  • Wendy Colmus, Seahurst Elementary, Teacher - Math Instructional Coach
  • Nora Duarte, Hilltop Elementary, Teacher - Dual Language
  • Amanda Eastgard, Cascade Middle School, Teacher - Grade 8/Language Arts
  • Meagan Fleming, Parkside Elementary, Teacher
  • Denise Gardner Young, Marvista, 3rd Grade Teacher
  • Emily Gunn, Seahurst Elementary, Teacher
  • Nicole Jones, McMicken Heights Elementary, Teacher - Grade 2
  • Ken Kulk, Pacific Middle School, Teacher - Special Education
  • Jonathan McKernan, Hilltop Elementary, Teacher 
  • Melissa Neely, Cascade Middle School, Teacher - Special Education
  • Jordan Reni, White Center Heights Elementary, Teacher - 2nd Grade Dual Language Spanish
  • Schell Ross, Pacific Middle School, Teacher
  • Leticia Yellam, Hilltop Elementary, Dual Language Facilitator

Outstanding Volunteer

  • Kari Bell, Marvista Elementary
  • Beth and Scott Davis, Cascade Middle School 
  • Tyrone Dunn, Parkside Elementary, Communtiy Volunteer
  • Linda Farnsworth, Gregory Heights Elementary
  • John Feeney, New Start High School and Cascade Middle School
  • Deborah Gardner, Parkside Elementary
  • Abigail Hoffman, Parkside Elementary
  • Maria Perez, Cedarhurst Elementary
  • Long Phan, Evergreen High School
  • Maria Santiago, McMicken Heights Elementary
  • April Swansiger, Mount Rainier High School and Pacific Middle School, Orchestra Volunteer
  • Heather Volkers, Cedarhurst Elementary

Gold Star Awards BASH!

Help the Highline Schools Foundation celebrate these outstanding employees and volunteers, and find out who wins, at the Gold Star Awards BASH on Thursday, March 14.

Gold Star Awards BASH!

Date:  Thursday, March 14, 2019
Time:  6:30 - 8:00 pm
Location:  The Beach Park Event Center, 22030 Cliff Ave South, Des Moines

Visit the Highline Schools Foundation website to purchase tickets.